Tricopter: Accident Update

The shafts are a bit scratched up. I found that the prop savers had come a little loose, perhaps as a result of vibrations. I will need to apply loctite or at least check them before each flight.

The tail rotor must have cut into the tail ESC and the ESC leads as it ripped off. I will need to apply heat shrink or replace the wires.

I don’t know what I was thinking, but I had both the flight code and the joystick code assume an initial Z input of zero. Arming should be (and I knew this!) manual! This is problematic because the joystick has issues determining the initial Z axis value (reports it as 0 instead of -1). I must have nudged the joystick a bit, causing it to send an initial Z value of 0 even when it is not. In code, a Z value of -1 is minimum throttle, so 0 is actually mid-throttle. This is now fixed.

But at least it was mid-throttle. I don’t know if I could actually have even held my grip on the tricopter if it had gone to full throttle (as it had many times during testing).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

