Bunnybot: Weeks 1–2

Nov. 8, 2010

Bunnybot season has officially started! We have six weeks to build.

Surprised to find out I am Co-Program Manager with Lipi. I hope that, at least on the outside, we will lead this team to victory. To do so, however, we will need to maintain a strong sense of why, how, and what we do:

Why: FIRST. For the Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology. To help students realize their potential. To build character.
How: Teach students to be engineers, raise community awareness to the value of young professionals, build awesome robots, and have fun.
What: Win.

I don’t buy flat, unfeeling music and it is impossible to force musical expression. I enjoyed math not because I was good at it but because it allowed me to be logical. I became a programmer because it was even more tangibly logical than math. “People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it.”

Nov. 7 was my birthday. Upon finding this out, a few awesome people drove out to buy a chocolate cake and trick candles. I was really touched when the team sang happy birthday for me. I don’t show it, but they have no idea how much I appreciated that. It really was a special 18th birthday.

Sorry I slobbered all over the cake. The candles kept reigniting!

Nov. 11, 2010

Willamette Innovators’ Night. We found many potential mentors but sadly no sponsors. Ram-Z Fab might let us look through their scrap heap though!

LaSells catering was as excellent as ever.

Nov. 15, 2010

Started work. Unloaded field from Girls’ Generation scrimmage. Others started cardboard prototypes of end effector. Swerve CAD almost done.

Nov. 17, 2010

Set up a Gantt chart to schedule the rest of Bunnybot season.

    • Lipi
    • November 23rd, 2010

    I should read this more often, I’m so glad you liked the cake!! :)

    Also, I have an article I found in Wired Magazine I think you’ll love. Remind me to give it to you soon. :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

